The United States Fashion Industry Association's Board of Directors includes sourcing and compliance executives from the leading American retailers, brands, and importers of textiles and apparel.

Board Officers

Michael Singer, Chairman

Vice President, Customs & Social Compliance, Macy’s Merchandising Group

Michael Singer is the Vice President of Customs and Social Compliance for Macy’s Merchandising Group. MMG is responsible for conceptualizing, designing, sourcing, importing and marketing private brand goods sold at Macy's, and in some cases, at Bloomingdales. MMG product is sold in over 800 Macy’s Inc. stores as well as e-commerce, and outside customers.

Mr. Singer joined Macy’s in 1983 and has extensive experience in Customs, Social Compliance, Environmental, and Logistics issues. During his tenure at MMG he has worked to keep Macy’s at the forefront of all Custom’s initiatives and has partnered with Logistics Providers and Suppliers to automate processes and reduce carbon footprint and expenditures through the supply chain.

Mr. Singer has a B.A. in Economics from the State University of New York at Buffalo and is a licensed Customs Broker. He has served on the Board of Directors of the United States Fashion Industry Association (formerly USA-ITA) for over 10 years. He also is a member of MMG’s Sustainability Committee.

A native New Yorker, Mr. Singer lives in Great Neck and has two sons. He is an avid New York sports fan and fitness enthusiast.

Anna Walker, Vice Chair

Senior Director of Global Policy & Advocacy, Levi Strauss & Co.

Anna Walker is the senior director, global policy and advocacy at Levi Strauss & Co., supporting LS&Co.’s business strategy and strengthening the company’s reputation by anticipating and shaping external public policy and stakeholder initiatives. Prior to joining LS&Co. in 2004, Anna was senior manager for international labor affairs at the U.S. Council for International Business. She has a master of arts from the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies and bachelors of arts degrees in international relations and Spanish from the University of California, Davis.

Stefanie Rotta, Treasurer

Senior Director, Global Sourcing, URBN Inc.

Since her first job upon moving to New York to “get into fashion” over 20 years ago, Stefanie Rotta has been deeply immersed in the manufacturing, development, and sourcing aspects of the apparel business.

After seven years in New York representing a group of South American manufacturers, working with Doral Apparel Group, Stefanie relocated to Bolivia as Director of Business Development for Ametex S.A., a fully vertical knit supplier. Her four years there taught Stefanie manufacturing at its core, while she successfully led the mission to develop and grow a factory-direct business model with the United States. She also saw a new product line opportunity in South America, developing a line of home textiles for export, and opened that market to the United States for the factory prior to returning home.

With joining URBN in 2004, Stefanie brought her experience full-circle and her manufacturing expertise to the retail side.    She has worked intimately with the leading retailer’s three major brands and across all categories, holding successive through all stages of the process from product conception forward. In her role now, Stefanie is able to focus on long-term sourcing strategy and planning, as well as continually optimizing the company’s sourcing initiatives to the evolving demands of the retail environment.        

Sonja Chapman, Secretary

Director of International Traffic & Customs Compliance, Golden Touch Imports, Inc.

Sonja Chapman is a licensed customhouse broker with over 25 years’ experience managing international transportation logistics and customs compliance for apparel companies.  She is currently Director of International Traffic and Customs Compliance for Golden Touch Imports, Inc.  The firm provides administrative services to a group of apparel companies that special in women’s and junior apparel.  Prior to working with Golden Touch  Ms. Chapman served as Director of Logistics and Customs Compliance for Baby Togs, Inc., a large U.S. children’s apparel manufacturer, for 14 years.  Ms. Chapman also teaches in the department of International Trade and Marketing at the Fashion Institute of Technology. She teaches courses in International Logistics and Import / Export Regulations. In addition, she is a regular coordinator of programs for FIT’s Executive Education Program and their International Exchange Programs. 

The U.S. Secretary of the Department of Agriculture appointed Ms. Chapman in 2004, to serve as a member of the Board of Directors of the Cotton Board.  She is currently chair of the Strategic Assessment Committee. 

Ms. Chapman received her B.A. in International Politics from the CUNY Baccalaureate Program. 

Ms. Chapman has been married for 28 years and has two children.

Board Members

Jon Brewer, Senior Vice President of Product Development & Supply Chain for PacSun

Kerry Caban, Director of Customs Compliance for PVH Corp.

Sonja Chapman, Director of International Traffic & Customs Compliance for Golden Touch Imports, Inc.

Steve DiBlasi, Vice President of Global Sourcing for Lanier Clothes, a division of Oxford Industries

Anne Marie Ditaranto, Former Senior Director of Global Customs Compliance for Ralph Lauren Corporation

Dean Draughn, Senior Director of Strategic Sourcing for Under Armour

Ron Katanick, Vice President Global Product Services, Footwear & Home TD

Chris Lucas, Director and Associate General Counsel for American Eagle Outfitters, Inc.

Melissa Nelson, Vice President, General Counsel for SanMar

Emma Ormond, Customs & International Trade Manager for Primark

Stefanie Rotta, Senior Director of Sourcing for URBN, Inc.

Jim Schwartz, President & CEO of MGF Sourcing

Michael Singer, Vice President of Customs & Social Compliance for Macy's Merchandising Group

Laurie Sutandar, Vice President, US Sourcing for J.C. Penney Purchasing Corp.

Anna Walker, Senior Director, Global Policy & Advocacy for Levi Strauss & Co.

Alan Woodruff, Senior Operations Manager, Imports & Logistics for New York & Company, Inc.

Past Chairs

2011-2016: Maureen Gray, Ralph Lauren Corporation

2009-2010: Janet Fox, J.C. Penney Purchasing Corp.

2006-2008: Robert Zane, Liz Claiborne, Inc.

2002-2005: Peter McGrath, J.C. Penney Purchasing Corp.

1997-2001: Frank Kelly, Liz Claiborne, Inc.

1992-1996: Julia K. Hughes, Associated Merchandising Corporation

1989-1991: Sam Nysenbaum, Gitano